Hello darkness, my old friend!

I’ve come to talk with you again! And this time, I really want to talk. I talk, that is, and you keep quiet. We go way back, darkness, you and I, but I feel that it’s time to take our relationship to another level. This level, darkness, is the break-up level. I cannot take it anymore. Your sweet-talk worked for me for a long time, I really fell for it. You convinced me over and over again that this is all I can get, that I won’t be anything without you. And, don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy our time, when we first dated at least. You were so different, you made me think things I had never thought before, and you made me feel things I never felt before.

I enjoyed making myself pretty for you, just the way you liked it. It felt good for a while, I felt so special! We had all those little secrets. You made me wear high-heels for you, but it was just because you loved seeing me fall even harder. You made me wear pretty make-up, but it was just so no-one would see the bruises you gave me.

It’s not your fault, darkness, really. I was asking for it. I was looking for you, and you came. But you became too much. I can’t handle you anymore.

You see, I’ve met somebody else. I’ve met the light, and I think she is the right choice for me. The light likes me just the way I am, I don’t have to hide anymore. We are a great match, and I won’t let you ruin it for me anymore. I am happy, and I will make this work! I am almost 40, it’s time to settle down for happiness. There is no room for you!

You can come visit sometimes, I think I would appreciate your company every now and then. But you’ll play by my rules from now on, or you’ll leave forever. Think about it! I don’t expect your answer right now. I want you to really think about it.

Until then, farewell, darkness! Have a good life!

Kerstin

One thought on “Hello darkness, my old friend!

Leave a Reply

