Looking at 2016…

dsc_0065

I know that it’s a tad early to write an end-of-the-year post, but I haven’t written in ages, and tonight I feel like it, even though I am super tired. I spent the last two evenings in the company of lovely people, and there is more to come this week. We had good conversations, everybody got the chance to vent and then chit-chat, and then I went through my news sites when I got home. And it makes me sick and grateful at the same time.

My 2016 was – again, I’d like to add – a very good year. It did not start off that great, I was in a lot of pain all the time, but things got better when I spent 4 weeks in a clinic to sort out my back in June. Mr. Betterhalf and I love living in our big and cosy home. We took a long vacation in September and went to the US, we saw small and big concerts. I cried over the death of Leonard Cohen. I danced at The Cure’s gig. I laughed my head off during long summer nights with friends. I worked out, I cooked good food. I deepened my relationship with some friends, and wrote others off. I lost weight and gained it back. I bought balcony furniture and accidentally dropped it from the very balcony (really, there is this stupid gap…). I have a decent chance to be hired permanently. I worried about turning 40 next year. I turned away from drama. I love the Gilmore Girls. My phone broke and got replaced with the latest model.

For the world, 2016 was a nightmare. There is war; unspeakable things are happening in Syria. The majority of the US did not vote for the designated idiot. People died. People are dying. There are bombs, there are elected dictators. Aleppo, Nice, Syria. Earthquakes. Brexit. Orlando, Greece, Belgium. New Year’s in Cologne. David Bowie, Prince, Alan Rickman, Guido Westerwelle and many more. Swing to the right, hate-comments. Everybody has an opininion on everything.

But back to the small things. I had an exceptionally crappy week at work that drained my head. I have been in back pain for two days. Does my life suck? No! Read it again: “I had an exceptionally crappy week at work that drained my head. I have been in back pain for two days.” I do have a job. I live in a country with free health-care. If I feel sick, I get the doctor to sign me off work, and I still get paid. I can voice my opinion without being arrested. I can live with my love without having to get married. My biggest problem in work is that my co-worker is 25 and re-pubescent. I can travel the world. I can order my food without celery and nuts. I can buy an extra pair of shoes only because I like the colours. I have friends locally and spread all over the world – I can call them anytime with my high-speed internet flat rate.

I am very blessed, and so are most of you who read this. Think about it! Let’s all think about it next time we state that “this is the worst day ever!”

I close with Leonard Cohen: We are so privileged to gather in moments like this, when so much of the world is plunged in darkness and chaos.

I can’t run no more
with that lawless crowd
while the killers in high places
say their prayers out loud.
But they’ve summoned, they’ve summoned up
a thundercloud
and they’re going to hear from me.

Yours truly

Kerstin

Leave a Reply

