Five songs of my life

The other night I was sitting in my room with my headphones on, going through my tracklists and youtube. While I have a lot of favourite songs, I started wondering about my life songs. You know, songs that just never die for you, songs that have a meaning to you beyond being your favourite at a certain time. At first, I wanted to name this post “Top 5 songs of my life”, but that would not really be appropriate, because they are life songs, they are in no particular order! It is also interesting that most of my all time favourite bands are not in there! There is a difference between favourite bands and life songs, you see? So here it goes:

Joe Cocker: With a little help from my friends

While Joe Cocker was always important for me for various reasons, this song has a special meaning. Of course, we all like friends, but honestly, I would not know where I was today without my friends on the way. Some of them are not in my reach anymore, and I have cut some out. But each and every one on the way was important. Thank you, guys!

Dido: Mary’s in India

This song is about this guy Danny, whose girlfriend left him to go to India. So there is the literal meaning of this song – while the sun rises for me, it sets on some of my friends in other time zones.

What is more important though is the figurative meaning – so many times, your rise means that someone else is going down. And many times, your being down means someone else is up. But it is a constant sway. You are never only headed downwards – you will rise again, and you shall never forget that!

Fury in the Slaughterhouse: Every generation got its own disease

The title says it all, doesn’t it! Now that I belong to the middle-aged generation (say WHAT?), I hate when people my age talk about today’s kids like they are aliens! Of course, you will always find things that you think were better “back then”. But does this mean the kids are wrong? Generations develop, there are new approaches to life, new adjustments to today’s society. So this song goes out to every single generation – we all have our own diseases, we all struggle, and in the end, we are all the same!

Leonard Cohen: Closing time

Should any of my readers be charged with organising my funeral: please play this song! It makes me chuckle every time I listen to it. It catches the irony of life so brilliantly, and I love the following lines:

The whole damn place goes crazy twice
and it’s once for the devil and once for Christ
but the Boss don’t like these dizzy heights
we’re busted in the blinding lights,
busted in the blinding lights
of CLOSING TIME

We all try to find love, we buzz from one party to the next, but at the and of the day, it’s closing time. ‘Nuff said!

Sólstafir: Ótta

Now, this is the perfect song for me. Unfortunately, there is no decent quality video available, so I just put in the soundcloud link. The song is in Icelandic, and until today I have not Google-translated it at all. I don’t care what it is about. They could sing about trash cans if it was for me. When the banjo kicks in during the second part of the song, and Aðalbjörn Tryggvason starts to scream (at about 8:00 minutes), I get the chills every time. It is like he is screaming my heart out. I met him various times and never told him, but if I could, I would just thank him for singing my song. My perfect song. Thank you so much, Addi 🙂

Yours truly

Kerstin

 

Leave a Reply

