Life in 6 songs

I started following Christy over at Running On Sober only recently, but man, how happy I am about joining in just in time for the “Life in 6 songs” contest! I always wished my life was a musical – as in whenever something important happens, a tune is played loudly and myself and everybody involved could start dancing and performing our feelings 🙂 So, a soundtrack for my life is a start! I love it! Click on the links to watch the videos!

So here it is, my life in 6 songs (and a bonus song):

# 1 Das Lied der Schlümpfe by Vader Abraham

My Grandmother lived in one of the old pithead buildings that were typical for the industrial area in Germany my parents were from. My Grandfather, whom I have never met, had worked in the coalmine across the road. These houses had their own charm. My Grandma had this song on vinyl, and she had to play it over and over for me! It is the Smurf song, performed in German by a Dutch singer, whose accent is really bad 🙂 But I loved, loved, loved the song and I still remember clearly sitting in one of Grandma’s big armchairs and singing it from the top of my lungs!

# 2 Poison by Alice Cooper

I always loved rock music as a child, and when I was about 12, the album “Trash” by Alice Cooper was the first album I owned. Well, I did not even exactly “own” it, I had taped it from my friend’s album, so I had it on one side of an audio tape (the other side was Depeche Mode, by the way)! Having only a very basic knowledge of English at the time, I barely understood what the song was about, but I remember various parties where this was played and we rocked out like there was no tomorrow! I went to see Mr. Cooper in concert only a few months ago, he’s still got it!

# 3 The great gig in the sky by Pink Floyd

Let’s fast forward to my 20s. The time between 20 and the beginning of my 30s was eventful: university, countless nights at pubs and clubs, meeting new people, first jobs on the bright side. On the dark side there was my brother being diagnosed with leukaemia, unhealthy relationships, panic attacks and anxiety. I felt lost very often and really did not know who I wanted to be. I often turned (and still do) to Pink Floyd. Their music always touched me, soothed me and calmed me down. I go with the late Pink Floyd though – the Sid Barrett area does not do much for me! “The great gig in the sky” is one of the most powerful songs I know, and it does not need words – this is how I felt!

# 4 Nothing else matters by Metallica

10 September 2007. My world stopped turning and my heart stopped beating for a second. My one and only big little brother died after 7 years of leukaemia at the age of 27. I did not feel anything for quite some time. The day after he died, his girlfriend and two friends of mine sat down with me to pick music for the funeral. It was unreal, but it gave us something to do and we put all our heart into it. We chose this song, because it made the most sense. My brother loved it and the lyrics were so appropriate. The song was played while the coffin was carried to the grave. I still cannot listen to it without seeing the crowded cemetery! Miss you, Erik!

# 5 Fjara by Sólstafir

I call 2012 “the year when I woke up”. I know it might sound pathetic, but it is true for me. I had put my foot down and decided that I want to live a happy life. I was single by choice and used the time well to sort out my head and my body. My friend E. is the manager of this brilliant Icelandic band. You don’t have to understand the lyrics, just feel the music! In 2012, I went to Iceland with my Mum and listened to Sólstafir’s album over and over again. Today it helps me recall the Icelandic scenery (you’ll get an impression from the video), the remarkable mix of fire and ice and the peace I found there. I have never felt more peaceful anywhere else!

# 6 Anthem by Leonard Cohen

And here we are now. Apart from my job situation, I am happy. I have found my love, and I know that life goes on, no matter what happens. I have brilliant people around me whom I do not want to miss for a second. Leonhard Cohen’s every song could be on my soundtrack right now. His voice, his age and his power touch me. And he is right: “There is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in”!

Bonus Song #7 (If you could wrap up your life story in ONE SONG, or if you have a personal theme song, or even a song you want played at your funeral, what would that song be and why?): Brain damage / Eclipse by Pink Floyd

This is the song I would choose if I only had one single song for my life soundtrack. I love how accurately it describes… life 🙂 It makes me smile every time I hear it!

All that is now
All that is gone
All that’s to come
And everything under the sun is in tune
But the sun is eclipsed by the moon.

Yours truly, madly, deeply!

Lunatique

6 thoughts on “Life in 6 songs

  1. Oh wow, what a great list, Lunatique! I love that Metallica song, though sorry to hear it’s tied to your brothers death…I’m so sorry for your loss. Music is such a healer though, isn’t it?

    Anthem by Cohen… Sigh. So good!

    So glad you joined us, thank you!

    Love, Christy

    • Thank you, Christy! It was so much fun to do the list and go through all the memories!

      And yes, music surely helps with the healing!

      Looking forward to reading more from you!

      Lunatique

  2. Pingback: Life in 6 Songs: Winners Announced | Running On Sober

Leave a Reply

