Spice up your life, Pt. 2: sage, oregano and garlic

So, apparently I am still sick and found a doctor today who decided to do some lab work on me to see what kind of germ has caused my throat infection. Well, frigging finally! Knowing my hypochondriac self I decided to create a new blog post on herbs and spices instead of googling all kinds of symptoms 🙂 Since I am up to my throat (pun intended) in sage tea, I will start with exactly this: sage. We will also have a look at oregano and garlic, because they are not only yummy, but really healthy as well!

salbei-04

 Sage / Salvia officinalis (Picture source)

Unsurprisingly, sage has its origin in the Mediterranean and responds well to warm weather and sunlight. It is basically known for two things: it is highly disinfecting and therefore used for all kind of throat problems – hoarseness, pharyngitis, laryngitis, and so on. It also works as an antiperspirant.

The most common way to consume sage is in the form of tea. I have to admit, it is clearly not my favourite! But I can tell you, you will get used to it after a while. I can even drink it without honey now and it does not make me gag 🙂 A much nicer way to use sage is to cook dinner with it. I tried the following recipe some weeks ago and it is absolutely delicious!

Gnocchi with sage and green asparagus (serves 2; you might want to vary the quantity to your own liking):

You need about 750 g of gnocchi, 500 g green asparagus, 1 onion, sage (a few fresh leaves or the dried herb), 1 tablespoon of sesame and 3 tablespoons of butter.

Wash the asparagus, take off dry ends and cut into pieces. Bring some salted water to the boil and cook the gnocchi. Meanwhile, fry the asparagus for about 5 minutes. Add the cut onion for the last 2 minutes, and season with salt and pepper. In a different pan, roast the sesame until it is brown, then add the butter and froth it. Add the sage (but be careful! Too much sage will taste soapy!) and fry for a short time. Toss the gnocchi into the butter and fold in the asparagus. Serve the dish with a sesame topping.

Oregano_1

Oregano / Origanum vulgare (Picture source)

We all know and love oregano on our pizza – everybody does! But did you know that oregano also has healing power? I suppose I do not have to mention that oregano mainly grows in the Mediterranean. This is an old hat now! Oregano has antibacterial power and works really well on stomach problems. It can also help to get rid of an annoying cough!

I use oregano for everything that is supposed to taste remotely Italian – tomato sauce, pizza, caprese… buon appetito!

01 - knoblauch

Garlic / Allium sativum (Picture source)

I kept this one for the end of this post. Garlic is a superpower miracle plant! Really! First of, it fights vampires. Obviously. And apart from fighting this unpleasant species, it also fights free radicals and…. DRUM ROLL! … therefore preserves our youth! Finally and excuse to eat lots and lots of smelly garlic! By the way, this superpower can only come into action when garlic bulbs are cut!

Garlic stabilises your blood pressure and also helps to prevent thrombosis, because it improves the blood-flow in your body. It has antibiotic effects, too, mainly on our stomachs. The different is that antibiotics harm our mucosa, while garlic strengthens it.

I think the only bad effect that garlic can have is the one on your relationship 😉

I use garlic in veggie dishes, sauces, with meat – just be careful with the dosage. I personally cannot handle too much of it!

Now go and eat yourself healthy 🙂

Yours truly, madly, deeply!

Lunatique

 

2 thoughts on “Spice up your life, Pt. 2: sage, oregano and garlic

Leave a Reply

