Perspectives on Hamburg (and Sólstafir)

It’s official: I am truly, madly, deeply in love – with a city and a band! My brand new loves are the city of Hamburg and the Icelandic band Sólstafir. And last weekend I had the chance to have all my loves in one place!!!

I have always liked Hamburg. I don’t know what it is, but every time I go up there (up as in it’s North from where I live), I feel calm. A part of this is certainly due to the rivers Alster and Elbe – I love water, it is calming and scary at the same time. But it’s also the very different faces of the city! And the city has stuff to say, too, which you will see in the following photos. As always, I am not going to give you pictures of the usual landmarks but show you some the more unusual stuff that caught my attention.

My friend and I started our journey on Friday morning and where lucky to catch a free ride with my father, who is going up North every other weekend. It was an easy ride, our famous ‘Autobahn’ were pretty empty and the further we drove, the more sun broke through the sky. We dropped our bags off at the main station and made our way right to the water. Look how pretty the colours of the boat are!

Kiel 01

This time, I noticed that all over Hamburg – that is on walls, floor, posters – someone had written “The bible is a book of fairy-tales”. No more explanation, no reference. I still wonder what is behind this – is it provocation, does it want people to start thinking or does someone just not like the bible?

Die Bibel ist ein Märchenbuch 01

On our way along the river, we came across another message – there is a house and on the top it says, in very big letters “No human being is illegal”. This really touched me because it is true. And it is something to wish for, something that I hope will be reality some day…

Kein Mensch ist illegal 01

After a nice meal at the organic restaurant ‘Schanzenstern‘ we made our way to the outskirts of the city to the newly bought house of old friends from home. The fact that we have not seen each other in ages and that they have a little daughter probably gives you an idea of how little sleep we got!

Mr. Murphy and his law was – of course! – with us even in Hamburg – while it was sunny in the rest of the republic, Hamburg was grey and cold on Saturday. But you expect this in Northern Germany so it was ok. We moved to our hostel in St. Pauli – I will not share the name of the hostel here but it is NOT recommendable. But it was only for one night, so we decided to not care too much. We spent the day walking around the different amazing quarters of the city. On our way, we came across this interesting new underground station called ‘Überseequartier’ – you do feel like in an aquarium in there!

Überseequartier 2 02

And now soon it was time to get to see my other new love: Sólstafir! And not only that, I also got to see my friend Tourmama who happens to be the band’s manager. Since we hopped on the wrong train on the way to the venue, we entered the club exactly 3 minutes before Sólstafir entered the stage. I rarely get really excited about bands but they are just blowing me away. I can’t even say what it is – maybe because they sing mostly in Icelandic and you don’t have to bother with the lyrics 🙂 It’s just a style of music that is totally different and unique! Unfortunately they only played half an hour because they are not headlining this tour but support the equally good Long Distance Calling from Germany. Both bands are touring Europe right now, go and check them out if you get the chance!

The venue was good and I really enjoyed myself – I get nervous with crowds but there are balconies so you don’t have to be in the middle of it if you don’t want to. After the show we waited until Tourmama was done and then took a taxi and followed the band to the infamous Reeperbahn – I really don’t like it there but it is usually where you end up as a tourist. We were totally shattered at that point but restored the power with some wine. Hanging out with the band really enforced my desire to learn Icelandic even more, it is such a beautiful language! And the guys are great, too! At about 3:30 in the morning we decided to leave because this was the point when some idiots started to throw glasses over to the other side of the street.

After – again – only little sleep we got some breakfast and took the train to Lüneburg to meet my father. We spent a few hours in this beautiful city. It is rather small but with a lot of old buildings and medieval heritage. There I took my last picture for today: it was a musician who played on the street and his sign says ‘Saving for a Mercedes’!

Lüneburg Spare auf Mercedes 03

Back home that night and ever since I feel like I have an emotional hangover – like when you’re in love and you miss the object of your desire. It was such a great time with great friends and great music! Cannot wait for next time!

If you want to know and see more about Hamburg, check out ‘Hamburger Innenansichten‘ – great pics!

Yours truly, madly, deeply!

Lunatique

All photos used in this blog are mine unless stated otherwise. Feel free to use them if you like, but be decent and link to this site!

3 thoughts on “Perspectives on Hamburg (and Sólstafir)

  1. Pingback: Resolution: Go with the flow | The German Perspective

  2. Pingback: Budapest: There is a crack in everything… | The German Perspective

  3. Pingback: How a single load of washing is crucial for your year! | The German Perspective

Leave a Reply

