Pea soup with ginger

I really got into cooking lately! I mean, I always cooked, but I never particularly liked it. But I have tried so many new things lately and I am really enjoying to spice up recipes that I find on the net or in books and change them a bit to my liking.

Also new: I have never been much of a soup person but these days I find them very soothing. I am also still feeling a bit under the weather with the flu and soup seems to be the cure for it!

Over the past few weeks, my main ingredients were zucchini and bell peppers. It came to an extend where today I thought ‘If I have to eat one more zucchini, I am going to scream!’ So I tried my luck with peas today and made a really yummy pea soup! The colour of it is lovely itself, I think this will be my dish for St. Patrick’s Day (and it’s also the reason I have decided to make the whole post green)!

Pea soup with ginger

IMG_0833[1]

What you need (for serving either two people or just you for two days):

400 g peas (frozen)

2 spring onions

1 clove of garlic

600 ml chicken broth

1 tsp grated ginger

200 g cream cheese (low-fat, 0,2% fat)

coconut oil

salt, pepper, coriander, thyme

What you do:

Chop the garlic and the white part of the spring onions into small pieces and briefly sweat them in the coconut oil. Then add the peas and the grated ginger and deglaze everything with your broth. You may of course use vegetable stock if you want to keep the whole thing vegetarian. Let the veggies simmer for about 10 minutes before puréeing them. Then add the cream cheese. Cut the green part of the spring onions into rings and add as well. Let the soup simmer for another 5 minutes and season to taste with salt, pepper and coriander. Also add some thyme if you have problems with bloating from pulses. Usually, caraway is used against bloating but I cannot stand the taste and I will detect the taste of the tiniest bit of it! If you – like me – want to go the totally un-vegetarian way, you can also put a hotdog sausage into the soup! And……. tadaaaaaaaa! You are done already (you might have noticed that I never really cook any dishes that take longer than 30 minutes)!

Some information on the ingredients: ginger is the greatest invention of all times! It warms you from the inside, helps with flu symptoms and strengthens the immune system. Garlic works like a natural antibiotic and helps you fighting those winter diseases, too! And peas… well, they have a great colour and they provide B-vitamins, which are really good for your nerves! And you need nerves when a look outside still tells you ‘winter’ but your body is screaming for spring!

Yours truly, madly, deeply!

Lunatique

All photos used in this blog are mine unless stated otherwise. Feel free to use them if you like, but be decent and link to this site!

Leave a Reply

