Perspectives on Iceland Part 2 – photos

Icelandic flag

Today I would like to show you some of my visual perspectives on Iceland. If you are also interested in the linguistic and musical side of the island, please read Perspectives on Iceland Part 1 – Language and Music and also check out Part 3! I took about 500 photos when I was there so the choice is not really easy. I decided that I will spare you of the photos that you already find on the usual websites about Iceland. So there will be no pictures of geysirs, horses, sheep or Eyjafjallajökull, the Hallgrímskirkja or other common sights here. I like to focus more on some details and I hope you’ll like it! Most of the photos were taken with my Nikon D90 SLR camera or with my older Panasonic compact cam. I like photography but I am still pretty new to it, and honestly do not care too much about technique and theory. Like my friend Sascha says: “It’s the pic that counts”! I am still open for criticism and development, of course!

Perlan

To give you an impression: yours truly, madly, deeply on Perlan. As you might notice, a vacation in Iceland is not a fashion holiday AT ALL. What you want and need is functional clothing, hence this lovely bright yellow-greenish jacket. It serves a few purposes: prevention from getting soaked, which is very likely to happen as it either rains or you are somewhere near water fountains or waterfalls! It protects you from the wind which can be pretty strong on the island. And last but not least, with this colour it helps finding you if you get lost 🙂

Harpa

This is the window front of Harpa, the concert and opera house in Reykjavik. It was opened in 2011 and apparently (and quite obviously) the name means ‘harp’. I like the fact that the front looks like honeycombs and that, if you look at it long enough, you cannot really tell whether the front is even or not.

Glaumbaer

This is in Glaumbaer, an old farmstead with turf houses from the early 19th century. It is in pretty good shape and you can walk through the old buildings and see how people lived back then. Well, you can if you are not me! I get claustrophobic sometimes and with the low ceilings and all the people in there, it hit me. So I decided to rather walk around outside and spotted this wooden wheel. I like to play with depth of field and stuff and I think this one turned out pretty well!

Mývatn

This is Mývatn – the ‘Lake of midges’. Legend has it that the devil was raging about God’s work and therefore decided to piss against the sun – that’s how the lake came into being. No wonder there are so many flies there! At night and depending on the wind, you better make sure that you have all your skin covered – I even wore sunglasses in the dark to protect myself (and it’s also never too dark to be cool!)! Those hills you see in the photo are pseudocraters. They develop when hot lava flows over wet areas or water. The water evaporates and the steam breaks through the lava, turning it into craters. I love the sunset in this picture and the blackness of the pseudocraters!

Basalt

This is basalt. Our tourguide explained to us how it forms but honestly, I cannot remember. If you want to know more, check the link! You see basalt in various places in Iceland and the pattern is really pretty!

Tankstelle

This is surely the most beautiful petrol station in the world! And I do not remember or cannot find out where it is. So if you know, tell me! As I know now, it is located in Möðrudalur – in this tiny village, there was also a little polar fox which got adopted by a dog and I think this is amazing!

Bus

Now, what is this, dear reader? Any ideas? Well, since I am going to post this thing soon, I might as well tell you: this is how a yellow bus looks after driving through mud and rain for hours! How very artsy!

Jökulsárlón

We took a boat trip on Jökulsárlón, a glacial lagoon close to Vatnjajökull National park. In this case, we were lucky that it was NOT sunny, because then the pieces of ice that float on the lagoon appear in a bright blue. This guy in the picture was some sort of security for the tourist boats, I suppose. I love how he is taking a break here and relaxing in the middle of the ice!

Blumen

This is one of my favourites. The happy and very much alive flowers in front of the crosses at the graveyard. It is the graveyard behind Hofkirkja. I like cemeteries a lot and something like this surely takes the gloominess away!

8 Gletscher 2 14

One of the many glaciers in Iceland. With the clouds that break up in this picture, they seem even more majestic!

8 Wasser 14

My favourite! I love water and it’s also my favourite photographic theme. Here I was at a small river, at the point where it goes down to turn into the waterfall Svartifoss. I am a bit proud of myself for catching some of the single drops, too!

8 Wiesenschaumkraut 14

Unfortunately I am not so good at phytology, so I don’t know the name of this plant. It’s everywhere in Iceland, at least in August. And how pretty it is within the purple field!

9 Gedenkstein 15

Here is a memorial stone for the German seamen that lost their lives fishing in Iceland. You also find quite a few memorial stones for people who got lost in the glaciers and never came back. It always gives me shivers!

9 Herzstein 15

Awwww – they were like this, I did not rearrange them! Heart-shaped stones on black sand. How romantic ❤

9 Klippe 4+ 15

This is a cliff by Vík í Mýrdal. As I said, water fascinates me and it looks very powerful here!

9 Seljalandsfoss Steig 15

This is my last picture for today – the way back from behind the waterfall Seljalandsfoss. Looks a bit like the stairway to heaven!

Dear readers, I hope you enjoyed my little photo trip – I surely did, it brought back good memories!

Yours truly, madly, deeply!

Lunatique

All photos used in this blog are mine unless stated otherwise. Feel free to use them if you like, but be decent and link to this site!

10 thoughts on “Perspectives on Iceland Part 2 – photos

  1. Wonderful pictures! I love the beach and for me it can never be warm enough… that’s what keeps me from going to places like that… maybe I should think about it again…

  2. These are spectacular!!! It has taken me two days to get through this post because A.) Mr.P kept interrupting me and it gave me an excuse to start again, and B.) I spent so much time enlarging the pictures and checking out the amazing details. It’s hard to pick a favorite, so here’s my top three. # 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 12, and 14. That’s three, right? My second favorite three are #1, 3, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 15 and 16. In no particular order. Keep them coming and never stop taking photos! 😀

      • This is what I’m saying. I also loved the stories behind them all. I loved them when you posted them on FB, but the stories make me love them even more. Really good stuff. I’m ready for Part 3 please. Photo edition.

  3. Pingback: Perspectives on Iceland Part 3 – three anecdotes | The German Perspective

  4. Pingback: Perspectives on Iceland Part 1 – Language and Music | The German Perspective

  5. Pingback: The Eurovision Song Contest – hashtag dingdong!!! | The German Perspective

Leave a Reply

